Contact:

Dave Holm, lowa Institute for Cooperatives (515) 292-2667 dholm@iowainstitute.coop Afton Holt, CornerPost (515) 361-5313 afton@cpostmarketing.com



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Former Butler County Rural Electric Cooperative Leader Don Feldman Named to Iowa Cooperative Hall of Fame

AMES, Iowa – November 26, 2024 – Don Feldman, former Butler County REC board member/ secretary and president of the board of Corn Belt Power Cooperative, was inducted into the Iowa Cooperative Hall of Fame at the 2024 Annual Business Meeting of the Iowa Institute of Cooperatives.

"A well-deserving induction into the Iowa Cooperative Hall of Fame for Don's dedication to serving the cooperative system for almost 40 years," says Dave Holm, Executive Director of the Iowa Institute for Cooperatives.

Don Feldman began his cooperative journey in 1979, joining the board of directors for Butler County REC. Over the years, he demonstrated strong leadership, serving as secretary from 1986 to 2012 and taking on key roles within Northeast Iowa Development Corporation and Five Rivers Development Corporation. In 1989, Don was appointed Butler County REC's representative to the Corn Belt Power Cooperative. Recognized for his dedication, he became board secretary in 1993 and, upon the president's retirement in 1999, was encouraged to take on the role of president, a position he held for 18 years. Don led the cooperative community for over 36 years, retiring in 2018.

Throughout his career, Don prioritized cooperative education and development. He earned the NRECA Credentialed Cooperative Director certification and the Director Gold Board Leadership Certificate. Don championed educational programs like Youth Tour, scholarships, and Kid's Day at the Fair, while also emphasizing electrical safety and innovative energy solutions for members. At Butler County REC, he played an instrumental role on the Loan Review Committee, approving numerous loans that bolstered rural jobs and supported small businesses in northeast lowa.

Under Don's leadership, the Corn Belt Power board made transformative decisions, such as retiring the Humboldt Generating Station, incorporating wind energy, and joining Basin Electric Power Cooperative. He was known for fostering a collaborative environment, encouraging all directors to voice their opinions. Don's vision extended beyond energy generation to governance, as he worked with industry partners to enhance cooperative services. His legacy remains a testament to commitment, unity, and the betterment of rural communities.

Joining Feldman as a 2024 Iowa Cooperative Hall of Fame inductee is former Chief Financial Officer, Keith Spackler for Ag Processing Inc.

"These inductees and their fellow members are great examples of the positive impacts lowa cooperatives make daily across the state. We thank them for the time and service they have provided to their communities," Holm says.

About the Iowa Institute for Cooperatives

The lowa Institute for Cooperatives (IIC) has been lighting the way for cooperatives across the state since 1951, providing news and education while promoting legislative engagement, business development and value-added production for lowa cooperatives. A proven business model dedicated to the success of its membership; cooperatives have fostered economic progress in lowa for decades. lowa Institute for Cooperatives members come from agriculture, credit unions, rural electric, rural telephone, farm credit, petroleum and more. To learn more, visit www.iowainstitute.coop

The Iowa Cooperative Hall of Fame was established in 1999. This distinction recognizes the extraordinary service to Iowa cooperatives by these 55 individuals throughout the course of their public and private lives. For a full list of Iowa Cooperative Hall of Fame Inductees, visit https://www.iowainstitute.coop/about/iowa-coop-hall-of-fame-award/