## Hampton-Dumont Special Meeting 02/05/2025 09:00 AM

Hampton-Dumont Middle School Boardroom 601 12th Ave NE, Hampton, IA 50441

- The Hampton-Dumont Board of Education met in a Special Meeting on February 5, 2025, in the District Boardroom. President Erran Miller called the meeting to order at 9:00 am. Board members Erran Miller, Brent Hansen, Stephanie Powers, Matt Showalter, Steve Severs and Elisa Van Wert were present. Board member Mark Morrison arrived late. Also present were Superintendent Aaron Becker, Curriculum Director Jen Koenen, Principals Tony Spradlin, Beth Frenchick and Matt Trosky and Secretary Amanda Heiden.
  Visitors included Trent Grundmeyer of Grundmeyer Leader Services.
- 2. Motion made by Van Wert, seconded by Severs, to approve the agenda as presented. All ayes, Morrison was not present at time of vote.
- 3. Trent Grundmeyer gave a quick overview of the candidate pool and reviewed the schedule for interviews.
- 4. Motion was made by Hansen, seconded by Van Wert to go into closed session as provided in section 21.5(1)(i) of the open meetings law to evaluate the professional competency of an individual whose hiring being considered to prevent needless and irreparable injury to that individual's reputation, as that individual has requested a closed session. Roll was called: Severs aye; Van Wert aye; Powers aye; Showalter aye; Hansen aye and Miller aye. Board member Morrison was not present at time of vote. By a vote of six to zero, the board entered closed session at 9:12 am.
  - Also present in closed session were: Superintendent Aaron Becker; Curriculum Director Jen Koenen; Principals Beth Frenchick, Matt Trosky and Tony Spradlin; Trent Grundmeyer and Secretary Amanda Heiden.
  - Board member Morrison arrived at 9:44 am during closed session.
- 5. Motion was made by Hansen, seconded by Showalter, to return to open session. Roll was called: Hansen aye; Showalter aye; Powers aye; Morrison aye; Van Wert aye; Severs aye and Miller aye. By a vote of seven to zero, the board returned to open session at 10:21 am.
- 6. Motion made by Van Wert, seconded by Hansen, to adjourn. All ayes. The meeting was adjourned at 10:21 am.

Erran Miller, President	Amanda Heiden, Secretary