AGWSR Board Minutes

The AGWSR Board of Education met for a Special Meeting on Tuesday, February 25, 2025 at 7:00 p.m. in the Ackley District Conference Room. The meeting was called to order by Board Vice-President Tim Diamond and the mission statement was read. Roll call was taken with board members, Gabby Fistler, Matt Rose, Lanae Metzgar, Eric Minteer, Pat Scallon present. Board President Josh Meyer absent. Superintendent/HS Principal Erik Smith (left at 7:02 p.m.), Board Secretary Deb Barker, Principal Ashley Sires, Principal Keith Reuter, HS Dean of Students Michael Wabel and District Secretary Jen Minteer also present. A list of visitors is on file for future reference.

Motion by Minteer to adopt the agenda as presented, seconded by Scallon; carried 6-0.

NEW BUSINESS:

Motion by Minteer, seconded by Rose to approve the resignation from Superintendent/HS Principal Erik Smith effective June 30, 2025; carried 6-0.

Motion by Fistler to enter into closed session evaluate the professional competency of an individual whose appointment, hiring, performance, or discharge is being considered with a closed session is necessary to prevent needless and irreparable injury to that individual's reputation and that individual requests as a closed session. Iowa Code 21.5 (1)(i), seconded by Scallon with a roll call of Fistler, Rose, Metzgar, Minteer, Diamond and Scallon the board entered into closed session at 7:02 p.m.

Motion by Minteer and seconded by Rose the board came out of closed session and returned to open session at 9:04 p.m.

On a motion by Fistler, seconded by Rose, and carried unanimously, the meeting adjourned at 9:04 p.m.